Break Every Chain

Yesterday, a particular hard day. You know, those days where it’s just “a day” and you can’t seem to quite snap out of it, then every other little thing takes another poke at you? Yeah, one of those days. I crawled outta bed, did my routine and decided to push through it. Dropped the momma off at the airport and said my good byes. At that moment I had remembered I brought a new CD with me that the Mother-In-Law gifted to me for my birthday. I popped that bad boy in and took a listen. Excellent I tell ya! So so good!

I stumbled through the day and around 2:30 I just couldn’t do it anymore. I darted over to the bathroom and allowed myself about 10 mins of pure bawling. I sat on the nasty bathroom floor and cried. Lord, I had just been exclaiming a short day or two ago about how you have done so much in me and my bitterness and jealousy and pain was being healed. All of a sudden there are all these triggers and painful reminders of what was lost and it’s like my chest was split wide open all over again. What are you doing up there?

I wiped my tears and reminded myself, ” I know that He loves me”, popped back into my seat and plugged away for the rest of the afternoon. I think the most important part of this story is what happened on my drive home. When I hopped back into my car to drive home I was listening some more to that amazing cd and a song I have heard a million times came on. As I was singing along I felt the tingles all over my arms. I could feel to the depths of me a shift. My singing became a prayer.

There is power in the name of Jesus, There is power in the name of Jesus.

To break every chain, break every chain, break every chain.

We all wear chains, whether we admit it or not. Depression, infertility, repeat pregnancy loss, addiction, fear, grief, guilt, shame, and a whole laundry list of other ailments. I found that while I was singing along driving home my eyes were full and my heart clinging. It was amazing, a moment were I was begging that the Lord break off my chains once again. Unravel me. We have all been set free when Christ bought our sin and shame and disease on the cross, but how often do we really walk in that? How often do we truly believe that what He said was finished is really finished? Do you know that you know that you know that you have really been set free, that your chains only need be shaken off.

When we claim to be bound up in bondage we never quite consider that our bondage isn’t holding us in with lock and key. There is NO lock and key. It’s simple, the enemy has convinced us quite well that we are to carry this ball and chain and that it’s going to tag along for the ride or that it’s gonna take a miracle or more to rid ourselves of it. Frankly, it’s a lie. The miracle we’re convinced it’s going to take was already done, it was conquered the minute He said “It Is Finished”.

There’s an army rising up, there’s an army rising up.

To break every chain, break every chain, break every chain.

As I was singing along I became angered and frustrated with inaccurate frustrations. I was angered thinking, where’s my army? Who’s gonna fight for me when I’m weak, or tired and feel weighted down? Where’s my army lifting me up, or standing firm when I can’t stand at all? After a day like that day, I needed someone to stand with me. I am fully aware that as time passes people don’t necessarily forget about our circumstances, but I sometimes think or unfairly expect it to be in the front of their mind like it is mine. But dang it, I need an army sometimes. I was soon reminded that this, this is exactly what the church is for and I don’t mean the building. I mean the ย people in our small groups or the ones we adopt as our family. The ones who instinctually know when to call and cry with you as you recap the day. The ones who send you emails or texts of encouragement, or the random “thinking of you”. Sometimes it feels like the church forgets their role, we get busy, side tracked, a case of the “I’ll do it later, or when I get home”.

Romans 12:15

Rejoice with those who rejoice, mourn with those who mourn.

The body of christ, our brothers and sisters, that is our army. It doesn’t come easy. It still takes work. We are called to help hold each other up, we are called to fight when one can’t.

1 Corinthians 12:26

If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, ever part rejoices with it.

I believe some people are gifted in this area and some have to work at it and be intentional. We all have our own talents and gifting, but I believe this portion is forgotten frequently. In the blogger world we have all been put to good practice of this. We all cry with each other, and rejoice when there is victory, and mostly I’m sure it’s because we all have a common thread and we can truly relate to the depths of what it’s like. You pull the entire body of Christ together and sometimes things just get lost. That’s ok, but I don’t ever want to be one who forgets.

If I want my chains broken, I’m certain there is an army behind me cheering for me to be freed. I too, want to be part of the army, not just the one weighted down with shackles and shame. Daily I long to be set free from what holds be back from being what He’s called me to be cause it’s all about him and less of me. I long for that for everyone, Claim it, Walk in it, Shout it out!

Break Every Chain, Declare that you are free, you are not held captive.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Break Every Chain

  1. You know good and well I love this song ๐Ÿ™‚ I mean…I do post it on your wall like every three months. LOL! I love ya girl and I’m here with ya! I have never “met” you and I know we are just blogging, email, and constant texting buddies….but I just love you so much and I can’t wait to watch God complete every plan He has for your life. He is birthing an awesome testimony in you and through you so that you may share the hope of Christ to others. Love ya sugars! xo

    Like

  2. I love those Bible passages. I know we’ve never met, but I’m saying a little prayer for you tonight. I know that times get so difficult sometimes. Keep the faith and stay strong.

    Like

  3. I enjoy that song as well. I’m so sorry you had a bad day this week – I did as well and even after so much time of dealing with loss, it just kind of snuck up on me suddenly. One night this week when I was feeling the lowest I’ve felt in a long time, I could feel God telling me to request prayer from a friend. So I texted a friend from church and told her I was having a bad night and that I just needed her to be in prayer for me. As soon as I texted her, I just felt peace. Even before she had been able to pray for me, there was peace in sharing my burden with a sister in Christ. Maybe there is someone in your church that you can find to be a prayer warrior for you as well? Anyways, I hope you continue to feel the Lord’s love and peace in the days ahead. XOXO!

    Like

Leave a Reply

