Birthday’s, Crafts, and New Hobbies

Wow, I can’t even believe that we are now a solid week into October (okay… okay, I am one day off). I feel like it was just yesterday I was day dreaming of sunshine and beach days. We certainly had plenty of sunshine (and still do) and it was amazing, but I can seriously count, on one hand, how many times I wore a swim suite…. no more than 3 times. YIKES. I wish we had done more, but I think I was covered in a dark cloud that made the super sunny days not shine so bright. Now, now it’s fall and I get to wear some cute clothes and snuggle up in my tall socks and boots. I love boots. If it could be fall all year around, I would be one fluffy happy girl!

IMG_5635

When the weather turns I tend to start wanting to bake and cook yummy fall meals, or decorate the table and cozy up for the winter. Seriously, I am in full on snuggle mode.

FullSizeRenderIMG_5602

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Something else about fall makes me feel crafty. I’ve always been one who loves to create new things and scrapbook. Perhaps even make a Fall or Spring/Summer wreath. This time though, I’ve started making something new, something I’ve never tried. Infant/toddler headbands. You guys, I am addicted to making these things! I know I have so many friends and family members who are ready to pop, already popped, or getting close to popping, so they will make excellent gifts. I also make some in expectation that just maybe we’ll have our own little one someday to style up with little adornments.

(Ps. Yes, I will be starting to sell these, if interested 🙂 Haven’t worked those details out yet, but I’ll get there)

FullSizeRenderIMG_5648

 

 

 

 

 

 

This fall I have also found another new hobby that I intend to perfect. Ok, maybe not perfect, but I am determined to get this instrument learned and learned well. So far I have mastered been able to throw about 4 chords together and slowly play one song. This is a tool that I think will come in handy and hopefully push me a little closer to my life dream. I’m in love with learning something new, and something for myself. I feel like I am experiencing a whole new side of Me that I’ve never known before…. and I like it.

IMG_5653

October is also a month that I hold near and dear to my heart. This month most people know it by Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and that’s ok, I fully support that and recognize that it needs awareness. It’s also Down Syndrome Awareness Month. My niece has what’s called Translocation Down Syndrome. This girl, she is a fighter, she had open heart surgery at the tender age of 6 months old and has since gone through countless procedures and medical interventions. Yet, she still ALWAYS has a smile on her face. I believe we can learn a lot from children in general, but a child with special needs also has much to give and much to teach us. She is strong willed, affectionate, feisty, courageous, fearless, sensitive, and a true gift from the Lord. She has been an inspiration to me, and honestly on some of my lowest days, she is a huge reason why I keep pressing forward. October also happens to be her Birthday Month. YEAH!!! This little one will be 10! My words are insufficient to express the love, care, and concern I have for her. I can’t wait for the day that I am closer to her (in distance)! Miss you so much, Buggy.

Dearest Madison,

This TeeTee loves you so much. Those words actually don’t even come close to how much value you have. You, my love, are so so treasured. Not just by me, or your Momma, or even the Grammy, but by The King, who created and knit you together so perfectly. His divine plan for your life is clear. The amount of joy and laughter you have brought each of us is a true gift. Don’t let anyone, ever, look down on you for your differences. You, sweet one, are perfectly made and precious. You may be from tiny town, but your gifts and strengths and worth are far greater. I love watching you grow and flourish in all He’s created you to be.

Happy Birthday to my little Mermaid. To the one who stole my heart from the very first cry.

I love you to the moon and back,

TeeTee

IMG_5262 IMG_5480

October also happens to be Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness month. For obvious reasons this one is a heart string for me. Not only have I experienced my own losses, but because of Gods request for me to blog my heart, I have walked with so many others through their loss(es). It’s a painful journey and one that I wouldn’t wish on anyone, but I am honored that I have been able to be a source of love and support during a difficult time. I’ve even watched some my blogger friends fight this battle and it’s ugly. I fully believe that there are ways to prevent pregnancy loss and infant loss. Consider donating to the March Of Dimes or Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep, or get involved in a local organization who is working on finding solutions. I am deeply saddened that I have had to experience this type of loss, but I’m proud of who it’s refined me into. I’ll never understand why, I may be lucky to know the reasons why two of the 3 failed, but I’ll never understand why these things have to happen or why the Lord allowed it. But I do know that He has been faithful to me and SO many other woman who have walk through Pregnancy and/or Infant Loss.

 

IMG_5558 IMG_5562

 

 

9 thoughts on “Birthday’s, Crafts, and New Hobbies

  1. Good luck learning how to play! I taught myself how to play the piano and then started taking lessons once I had the hang of things on my own. It was very rewarding and I hope it will be for you as well. So many things to remember and support this month, and so glad that you are bringing attention to all of them. Your niece is absolutely precious and I can tell she is extremely loved! Thinking of you this month and everyone else who has also had a pregnancy/infant loss.

    Like

  2. Happy birthday to your precious niece!!! I love the headbands they are cute!! Best of luck with learning the piano, I would not know where to begin! I can read music from being in band in middle and high school but you got me on the piano! haha

    Like

  3. Love those headbands girl!! Your niece is precious – I have never heard of that – but thanks for bringing awareness. Y’all are so photogenic in your picture your together!!!! I used to play the piano – I wish I still knew how 🙂 PS Your wreath on your other post is so cute – I just made a similar one!

    Like

  4. Whoo hoo! I love that you are learning the piano and also loving that you are making headbands! I give those away to those in the infertility community that are having girls and I need a distributed ;). And your niece….ADORABLE!!! Xo

    Like

  5. Such a lovely post! Happy birthday to your niece!!! lovely photos and bringing awareness to that – I didn’t know that so thank you 🙂 i love how people share things and you end up learning too!
    Excited for you to get all snuggly like you said – such a lovely time and if you feel like sending any baked goods down under please go for it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

