Wiggles, laughter, and little Squishy

I know I’m probably sounding a bit repetitive by now, but I am certain I am the worst blogger that ever blogged. I can’t seem to keep up on commenting lately. I’m feeling confident since the holidays are over now and our house is back to being empty, I may just find some time to catch up and really get back into a routine!

I miss routine. It’s coming back, slowly but surely.

It’s nice having the house put back in order, the carpets vacuumed and shampooed. All the laundry back in its designated spot. And, if we’re being totally honest, all thanks goes to the hubster, cause this gal didn’t do much except match the socks and fold the towels and hoodies. The rest was all him.

We had our first major snow fall and piled up about 6 inches, then the rain came and knocked most of it out. I imagine we have more snow in the future. My new car, which we’ve named “The Beast”, handles amazing in the snow. I couldn’t be more happy with my new rig!

FullSizeRender

There was a big win at the Brooks’ home on Saturday, the Carolina Panthers will be smashin’ up on the Seattle Seahawks this next weekend. I wish so bad I could send my man over there to see his favorite team play. Someday, right? It was a happy day for him!!

**Pregnancy and Ultrasounds mentioned**

I feel like time is going by super slow and super fast at the same time.

I am now technically only 9w2d, but I have been consistently measuring ahead so they have officially bumped me to 9w4d. I had my very first OB Intake appointment today and let me tell you, my gut was a wreck. I was excited and nervous and scared all at the same time. We did all the usual stuff: exam, blood pressure, nutrition, symptom talk, etc. Everything was perfect. Although I got a little bit of a scolding on my exercise and sugar intake, but I think as far as my diet goes she caught me on an off day. I just happened to make cookies last night and wasn’t bashful about sharing that I ate a couple of those bad boys. I personally think my diet has been just fine, full of fruits and veggies! With the holidays around I got plenty of protein.

They of course pushed the flu shot, but after asking enough questions I think I am going to skip it. Most of the flu vaccines contain eggs and I am very allergic to them. Apparently they have one specific type available that doesn’t contain egg products, but I just don’t think it’s the best choice for me. It may be a good choice for others, but not me. We talked about genetic testing, which we are still undecided on. The one she suggested the most is a simple blood test that looks at the baby’s DNA and doesn’t require an NT scan. Then there is a serious of blood tests that accompany the NT scan. I basically have just one week to decide. We’ve been on the fence about testing, I declined all genetic screening last time, but now I don’t know what I would prefer. I need to call my insurance, because the one she suggested apparently is thousands of dollars if it’s not covered. I’m not really interested in that type of financial obligation. So, we shall see. I’m torn. To be honest, as I was listening to hear I became super overwhelmed with all the options and got confused.

I was instructed to start my baby aspirin routine again at 12 weeks and continue through 36 weeks. And according to them I am just a normal, plain Jane, OB patient. Peace out, see you in 3 and a half weeks! Naturally, I immediately emailed my nurse at the RE’s office and asked if there was anyway I could come in for peace of mind during my 3 week wait. I know that after 12 weeks I’m gonna have to put on my big girl pants and be a normal patient going every 4 weeks, Lord help me!

BUT, today did include a Doppler during my exam. She said to not panic if we didn’t hear anything because it’s so early, and she promised me an ultrasound today so I didn’t panic if we didn’t hear anything! So I got the best of both worlds, baby Squishy was showing off and we heard the heart beat loud (ok, kinda quiet) and clear! It was amazing. Her Doppler wasn’t too techy so it didn’t measure the HR but she was guessing around 150. The ultrasound proved to have kept a steady rate of 163. Same at last week 🙂

Squishy Update (please ignore my nail polish, clearly I’ve neglected my nails!):

IMG_7279

IMG_7280

You guys, I couldn’t even believe my eye balls! Little Squishy was wiggling around, waving its arms and kicking its little feet! I got the giggles something fierce and kept apologizing for making the ultra sound tech’s job hard! It almost looks like a full real baby, not just a funny blob! Baby measured 9w5d today, so apparently I have a little bit of an overachiever (technically 9w2d, but bumped to officially 9w4d, and measuring 9w5d – Could it get any more confusing?). Little miss/mr is showing of his or her growing skills and being a little fatty 🙂 That’s ok, I like chunky babes anyway.

So here we go:

Due date:  August 6, 2015
Next appointment: End of January – except for the RE, I haven’t scheduled that yet!
Total weight gain/loss: Meh, about even still, maybe plus 1-2 MAX. I already got a little lecture, so I will be sure to have them NOT make comments about my weight unless I am gaining WAY too much and too fast. But, veggies are my best friend right now, I’m not terribly worried about my weight.
Exercise: Nada, BUT – my work offers Yoga during the lunch hour on Wednesday’s. I WILL attend. Plus I really want to make an effort to get some walks in during the week.
Maternity clothes: Nah, not really. My skinny jeans don’t look like cute skinny jeans anymore, they are just overly tight pants that make me feel like I’m suffocating.
Sleep: None. I hate it. With Colton, I slept like a champ, not so much this time. I thought being uncomfortable starts LATER, but apparently back pain at anytime is normal. So at my next appointment I will be seeing a doc who also specialized in Osteopathic stuff, and she’s going to check out my back and make some adjustments if I need it. Seriously, the back aches kill me.
Food cravings:  Tomatoes. More specifically grape tomatoes. I’ll eat the whole tub if I’m not careful.
Symptoms: Nausea on and off, fatigue, cramps, hunger, you know all the usual stuff, but totally manageable. Getting better day by day, though.
Movement:  TOO early.
What I miss: Eggs. Having a fairly new severe allergy to eggs is not convenient. I want eggs. And lots of them. In every form.
What I’m loving:  Growing a baby 🙂
What I’m looking forward to:  Feeling movements and knowing the gender.
Best moment this week: Laughing at my little one bouncing around and I can’t feel a thing. Surreal, amazing, crazy. I am super lucky and incredibly blessed to be experiencing this again.
I’m not ready for bump shots, plus there isn’t a ton to report, except some flabby belly.
So there ya’ll go. I am hoping that this week I can catch up on blogs and comments!
13 thoughts on “Wiggles, laughter, and little Squishy

  1. this is so awesome! i havent heard of the egg allergy before you poor thing. i eat eggs 3-4 times a week for breakfast so it would ruin me haha! Go little squishy!

    Like

    • I know, I hate the whole egg allergy, but it makes total sense because I am also lactose intolerant and it’s the same protein in eggs that’s in milk that I can’t tolerate. It’s weird, and it’s like a cruel joke to want eggs soo bad. Thanks for your support, Finley! XO

      Like

    • I’m pretty much worthless come 6pm after working all day. Then weekend I tend to get lazy and want to catch up on the never ending desire to sleep, so it’s been a major blessing that he’s stepped up and helped so much. The house would be a nasty place if it weren’t for him. XO

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OH MY GOODNESS. Pregnancy updates! I love it. So glad you heard the HB. I know how difficult it can be on deciding whether to do genetic testing. We declined all with our twins, and this time around with Baby C (because of how risk I am now), we did genetic screening – but no actual testing. That was after days and nights of debating and not sleeping. I know you will make the right decision for you and your baby. Lots of love and prayers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, when we found the HB on the Doppler the doctor immediately said, “I can’t even believe it, you have one STRONG heart beat, tiny Human!”. I think because we don’t have any intentions of terminating, and the outcome won’t make any difference to us we will skip it. I think my biggest concern was making sure baby had the proper care immediately after birth if needed, but I think whether we know beforehand, or not, baby will be well cared for by an amazing team! XO

      Like

  3. I’m so glad things are going well for you! And so nice of your husband to do the cleaning around the house. I was soooo lazy early in my pregnancy, so my husband did an amazing job of keeping things running. Sounds like we got lucky!

    Like

    • Thanks, Lilee! We did get lucky. My man has really been a huge part in keeping up during the first trimester. I don’t know how some people do it! Where does their energy come from!? XO

      Like

Leave a Reply

