Oh How the Years Go By!

I am both amazed and dumbfounded how it could already be May 7th. Often times when I find myself reflecting on the date I find myself looking back at how far I’ve come in one year or two, sometimes even 3. It dawned on me last night (not sure how I could even start to forget about this) that my Hubs and I will be celebrating our 2 year anniversary (as well as my 2 year blogging anniversary soon) which then made me realize I’ve spent just over 3 years with this dude. Where did time go? When did all this time pass and all of a sudden we’re here. If I’m being completely honest, at some points in our first year of marriage, I didn’t think we’d be here.

April, May and June of 2014 saw a lot of tears, a lot of fights, and a lot of questions. I tried to walk away, I shut down, and then over the course of our second year of marriage God started healing me, healing us. Words that shouldn’t have ever been spoken were forgiven, actions that left deep wounds were healed. As I look back I am amazed at the restoration, sufficiency, and redemption that we’ve walked through. These were all words that the Lord had given me WELL before we even started this journey. And not long after our last loss I received the word Victory. I believe FULLY that year one was all about those words, and year two saw a lot of victory.

In May of last year I was given a 50% chance of a successful pregnancy, and from there the news kept getting worse and worse. And from the moment the Dr said – basically if you want kids it’s gotta happen now because you don’t have much time left…. God showed up and beat all the odds that were stacked up against us.

I think today I am simply amazed at the miracle of life. I never would have thought a year ago that I would just be starting my third trimester…. I told my husband last night, I feel like I’m bringing in a new year! Sounds silly, but apparently I must be floating on some clouds of pure thankfulness and gratitude. Maybe just some extra oxytocin and endorphins? Either way, I’m proud. This marriage stuff is hard, add in complications with child-bearing and repeat miscarriages, we were doomed for divorce or a crappy start. It wasn’t ideal, but good – no AMAZING things –  have come from this. I’m stoked that the start of year #3 will bring a new set of challenges that will grow us together and grow our faith. It makes me excited for the next word/promise we receive from God.

so-thankful-e1385493723830

Due date:  August 6, 2015
How far along: 27 Weeks! I am beyond thrilled and blessed to be this far. I am REALLY enjoying this process and I couldn’t be more thankful.
IMG_8854

Yup, I realize the tags are still on – BUT new swim wear ya’ll! So now you can say you’ve all seen me in a swim suit. Yikes!

Next appointment: Tuesday, glucose – yuck.
Gender: Boy – Crosby Dixon
Exercise: Mostly just walking – yoga hasn’t seen me in a few weeks, but I’m still active, which is the goal.
 IMG_8397
Stretch marks: Nope! I hope it stays that way – if not, meh – no biggie
Belly button:  half in/ half out (mostly in the evenings though)
Sleep: The last two nights have been induced by Tylenol pm (approved and suggested by my doctor) as I’ve come down with a terrible cold, but I seem to be bouncing back quickly. I think the solid sleep is helping!
Food cravings:  Mocha Americano – decaf, always decaf. I have never liked mochas in my life. Now I must have it.
Symptoms:  I have a hitch in my giddy-up, but hoping the chiro can fix it tomorrow. Fatigue, sore ribs, hips and back, other than that – I’ve been very lucky!
Movement:  Free Entertainment. The movement is less jabby and more rolling. He loves my ribs – but he doesn’t really have much room as I am SO short-waisted. He makes me laugh a lot when he’s tumbling around. I love it, and I know I will miss it.
Baby’s Size/Milestones:  This week, Crosby weighs about 2.5 pounds and is about 15 inches long with his legs extended. He’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing his eyes, and perhaps even sucking his fingers. With more brain tissue developing, baby’s brain is very active now. His lungs are now developed enough where he could easily be sustained with medical help if he decided to come extra early.
Labor signs: NONE! He’s still up very high, I have the occasional – sometimes constant – Braxton Hicks contractions, but that doesn’t mean anything. Crosby has a ways to go still.
What I miss: Sleeping on my stomach, a good pee, and not grunting to bend over and pick things up! HA! Makes cleaning interesting…
IMG_8830
What I’m loving:  Growing a baby 🙂
What I’m looking forward to:  Meeting Crosby, baby showers, seeing my mom in August, raising a boy to love Jesus. I can’t wait to see him and my hubs together. I can’t wait to see what he looks like!
What I’m reading: Acts, as well as Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, I really like her book and I hope to get her other books as well.
Baby Purchases: Nothing really except supplies for his room. We were generously gifted a glider, bandana bibs, our desired diaper bag, and decorative pillow for his room – from my amazing momma! We feel totally spoiled!!
Best moment this week: Finishing painting and prepping little man’s room. Now the organizing and decorating can begin! We, ok – my husband – basically gutted this room and re-did the trim, the walls, the changing table, the closet, replaced the air vents… basically everything.. My only contribution was painting the book shelf. He gets all the credit. Nice work babes, you deserve a giant smooch!
IMG_8801

Don’t mind the mess, I have NO clue where to put things yet so for now things are just all over the place! Our new glider will be where that bounce/swing is, it should come any day – Thanks Momma!!!

IMG_1552
IMG_8793
IMG_1067

This lighting is bad, but we wanted to capture the new light fixture. Trust me, you didn’t want to see the previous 1970’s nasty that was in there.

So basically, that’s it. Time is flyin’, we’re excited, and things just keep getting better and better!
PS- I did let the internet scare me. What do you knowledgeable gals know about retained placenta after birth – especially in the case of a history of 4+ d&c’s and scar tissue? Good ol’ baby center… Apparently it can be pretty serious resulting in a hysterectomy?
6 thoughts on “Oh How the Years Go By!

  1. you are seriously such an adorable pregnant woman! And the nursery is shaping up really nicely! And those pictures you posted? Especially the one of the baby and all of his rolls?! ADORABLE!! Love you girl! I miss hearing from you! xo

    Like

  2. What a cute nursery! You look fantastic, as always. And you sound like me – reading up on things that will probably not happen! I hope the chiro helped you out! I can’t believe you are this far along already. I cant wait to “meet” this baby!

    Like

    • Thanks, Krystal!! I had my appointment today, and I brought up this stuff I’ve been reading. Turns out I am at an increased risk, but she said we’ll talk about options only if the complication arises. But she said in most cases she’s seen a successful outcome. I’m hoping to keep that success streak going strong! XOXOX

      Like

Leave a Reply

