My little Tomatoes

We’ve been singing this song to my niece since the day she was born. At least that’s how I remember it. It was a song my mom started singing and then all of a sudden we all sang it, all the time. My niece is one tough cookie. Starting at just a tiny baby she’s endured countless surgeries for her heart and her brain and so many procedures in between. We sang this in encouragement to hang on and soon, soon things will be different. Things have still been hard but this little girl won my heart over the day she entered this world. For the several years she was living in another state I missed her with every ounce of my being. But now, now she lives in the same city as me… Heck she lives only about 7 minutes away now! So – we get a lot more time with this bug. I love it.
FullSizeRender
FullSizeRender1
I love being a auntie to my sisters kids and I love being an auntie to both my sister-in-law’s kiddos. It’s seriously the best thing ever. I’m not sure my heart can get bigger, but I know it will. As there are more babes to join us. One in September, and hopefully more in the future. I don’t think any of my nieces and nephews realize how much I lub them. They probably never will. But I’ll die trying.
IMG_8881
Due date:  August 6, 2015
How far along: 28 Weeks! Holy cow, if I actually pop when some family member’s have guesses, I have about 10 weeks left. Yes, that’s a lot of time, but also, a lot less than it was before… YIKES!
IMG_8950
Next appointment: The 27th. I have graduated to every-other-week appointments. Which seems crazy to me, I can’t believe it. I did my glucose test this week, unfortunately I haven’t heard anything – which I am assuming no news is good news… It wasn’t as bad as I thought, I actually really liked the drink, but not so much the feeling after the fact.
FullSizeRender2
My appointment went well. I had the chance to ask my Midwife about the retained placenta risks. She agreed, I am at a much higher risk of this occurring, but we’ll cross that bridge if we need to. I’m glad she was open and honest, but also confident that my body knows what to do and will succeed in doing its job. Other than that, another A+ appointment. It took her about a full minute to find his heartbeat, I almost panicked and fought back some tears of memories from last year – but after a few pokes and prods she got him to cooperate!
Gender: Boy – Crosby Dixon
Exercise: Sadly my chiro said that I have somehow injured my SI Joint. I’ve been limping and wobbling my way around for just over a week now. It’s incredibly painful and I am SO hoping it heals, but she mentioned sometimes it doesn’t heal until after delivery. Not sure how I’ve managed to injure it so badly – but they suspect it’s baby’s fault. Alllll that to say – if I can hardly walk as it is – I ain’t getting any exercise. I am counting down the days until the pool is nice and warm though. That will be my exercise. I can’t wait.
Stretch marks: Nope! I hope it stays that way – if not, meh – no biggie
Belly button:  half in/ half out
Sleep: Oh how I crave thee. It’s probably frowned upon to form a Tylenol pm addiction during pregnancy. Someday I will sleep again. It may be a while, but that’s ok. There are great reasons for the lack of sleep.
Food cravings:  Mocha Americano – decaf, always decaf. I have never liked mochas in my life. Now I must have it.
Symptoms:  Growing belly, bust and butt! Fatigue. The emotions are starting to become more weepy, forgetful, distracted. I’m not sure where my brain is, but I hope it comes back at least a little.
IMG_8951
Movement:  This is changing, more rolls, less jabs. He’s also slowed down a little bit and become more irregular. The midwife assured me this was fine – especially since he’s continually running out of room.
Baby’s Size/Milestones:  This week, Crosby weighs about 2.5 pounds (not sure why his weight according to my app has stayed the same??)  and is about 16 inches long.  He’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing his eyes, and perhaps even sucking his fingers. With more brain tissue developing, baby’s brain is very active now. His lungs are now developed enough where he could easily be sustained with medical help if he decided to come extra early. He also is starting to be able to maintain his own body temperature!
Labor signs: NONE! He’s still up very high, I have the occasional – sometimes constant – Braxton Hicks contractions, but that doesn’t mean anything. Crosby has a ways to go still.
What I miss: Sleeping on my stomach, a good pee, and not grunting to bend over and pick things up! HA! Makes cleaning interesting…
What I’m loving:  Growing a baby 🙂
What I’m looking forward to: I’m getting really nervous and excited about our maternity pictures. I don’t know what to wear, how to do my hair, or how I really feel about barebelly shots. I have about 5 scars from pervious surgeries – including my tubal pregnancy. They’re ugly. But I’m trying to embrace the beauty of my journey to motherhood. It’s all a part of my story, and there are scars that are unseen that make me want to cover up and hide my body. But, I’m still excited to experience the “extras” of pregnancy and document this wonderful life! 
What I’m reading: Acts, as well as Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, I really like her book and I hope to get her other books as well.
Baby Purchases: Notta thing. We’ve decided to wait until after showers then buy in highest priority to lowest priority. Although I want to just get movin’ now. I can think of a million and one things I’d like to get done, but I’m practicing patience!
Best moment this week:
This arrived – The hubs put it together. It’s comfy. I’m stoked. Thank you Mommy for spoiling little man!
IMG_8936
This also arrived – Thanks again to my mother! She had fun I think 🙂
IMG_8935
This time next week, I’ll be sportin’ a new do, hopefully some freshly painted toes (lord help me, I’m not sure how bendy I am anymore). I’m ready for the weekend. Yes, very ready for a weekend.
XO
8 thoughts on “My little Tomatoes

  1. You are just precious!! I say no news is good news too!! I’m getting a new do tomorrow..yay!!! I haven’t done anything with my hair since December..it’s time! haha

    Like

    • Got the call, I passed 🙂 Yippy!! I can eat an extra cook or two now without hesitation! I can’t wait to do my hair, it’s been about the same amount of time for me as well! Yikes!

      Like

  2. Your niece is too cute for words. What a strong girl, going through everything she has been through. How special is she! I also liked the drink for the GD test, but I am a sugar addict. So exciting to see you preparing for this little one!!!

    Like

    • Thanks, Krystal! It’s a lot of fun preparing, but kind of scary still. I have minor moments of panic, but then try and just live in the now and confidence baby will make his way here safe and sound! XO

      Like

  3. Congrats on 28 weeks! I’m just catching up now, but you look amazing as always, and it’s wonderful to see everything going so well. I actually didn’t hate the glucose drink either…which could explain why I failed the test (oops). You’re getting so close!

    Like

Leave a Reply

