A heart full of more gratitude!

Monday:

  • OB Follow-up from L&D stay
  • Cervical check deemed no new changes
  • Placed on complete pelvic rest
  • Restrictions to daily activities and instructions to go home from work as needed for rest
  • fFN (Fetal Fibronectin Test = Negative)

Today:

With a negative fFN test earlier in the week we were able to rule out actual labor happening for a span of like 7-10 days – some say 14 days. So little man seems to be staying put. We were thrilled to have a negative result. However, for 2.5 days following that appointment I continued to have very regular and increasing intensity contractions. Everyone assured me things are fine so I finally just sucked it up and used this time frame to practice for actual labor and delivery. I’ve basically been on a cocktail of Tylenol and Benadryl mixture for the last 5 days. It’s essentially done nothing but help me sleep on occasion and help with the normal aches and pains associated with pregnancy (achy limbs, ribs, feet, etc). The last few days have been “good days”. Where I haven’t really been in much discomfort, so I’ll take it as a win and be stoked about it. But, last night was a doozy. I think I got about 2 hours of sleep and the good ol’ evil (or are they good…?) contractions are back.

Thankfully today we took a peek at Mr. Crosby, measured my cervix and checked for any changes. I seem to have a very proactive midwifery team and they are providing amazing care. We did a complete OB check today as well. I’m still mentally preparing myself to go full term and beyond (42 is my max) and if he decides to come early – that’s just icing on the cake. But I would prefer him to stay put for at least another 3 weeks. Either way, they’ve assured me that if he were to come today – his survival rate is well over 90% and he would be just fine.

FullSizeRender

So the great news, my cervix and all the insides look fantastic. Mr. Crobsy is measuring perfectly and appears to have chubby cheeks and his estimated weight is 5lbs 10oz. He was practicing breathing during his ultrasound, so we got to watch his little belly do some amazing work. She has prescribed me a medication called Vistaril to take on days where I seem to be contracting too often and need a break, the only side effect she mentioned was sleepiness. I am still on complete pelvic rest and restricted activities until 36 weeks. After that – any labor that happens can happen! If I am feeling anything new or different than what I’ve been feeling I’m to call and report it…. But, she seemed pretty confident that little C ain’t going anywhere any time soon. This was a HUGE relief to us today. We are incredibly thankful!

Check out those smoochers!!!

IMG_9434

On Monday we have our final meeting with our doula, Sarah. I’m getting increasingly more and more excited about delivery. It hasn’t quite made me nervous or anxious. I’ve not yet felt fear of the pain or fear of the what if’s. Perhaps me telling myself that a birth plan is simply just best-case-scenario, and anything can change at any moment has helped. The closer it gets the more I see myself embracing the process and looking forward to seeing how it unfolds. The only time I’ve felt fear was last Friday while being monitored. But my fear wasn’t of birth, but more the fear of losing another baby – or something going terribly wrong and having a complicated premie infant. I felt unprepared for his arrival and I knew that it was too early. But now, I feel like I have a better understanding of how things could, and most likely will, turn out.

So, 33 weeks looks pretty darn good from here. I’m thrilled to have had such a great appointment! I’m pretty sure my next update will include a lot of pictures of his room and all the fun stuff we’ve finished buying! Until then, you’ll likely find me floating in my pool. Dr’s orders… you know 🙂

IMG_9428

Happy Fathers day to all the men who have their littles in their arms, in their hearts, or in their prayers. To all the men who serve as father figures to kiddos and young teens to young adults. To all the men who teach and invest their important time into our families and to all the men who have lots their littles far too soon or have one baking and on the way!

7 thoughts on “A heart full of more gratitude!

  1. adorbs! (the belly and those lips! i could just die).
    happy to hear things are going well and baby boy is happy and healthy in there.
    you take it easy mama!

    Like

  2. I can’t believe you are so close to having this baby… hopefully, you have a bit more time left 🙂 but still, you are in the home stretch! Praying for you and little one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

